Eleven congressional aspirants are vying to clinch the five congressional seats in the three highly urbanized cities in Cebu.

In Mandaue City, incumbent Cebu Sixth District Representative Emmarie “Lolypop” Ouano Dizon runs unopposed as she run for congresswoman for Mandaue City Lone District.

It can be recalled Mandaue City separates from  the Sixth District by virtue of Republic Act 11257 or “An Act separating the City of Mandaue from the Sixth Legislative District  of the Province of Cebu to constitute the Lone Legislative District of the City of Mandaue”.

RA 11257  was signed into law by President Rodrigo Duterte on April 5, 2019. It was authored by former Cebu Sixth District Representative Jonas Cortes, the incumbent mayor of Mandaue and also seeking reelection.

If Ouano-Dizon wins in the 2022 local and national polls, she will be the first congresswoman in Mandaue City as a Lone District.

In Lapu-Lapu City, five are aspiring to become a representative, a position that is currently held by Lapu-Lapu City Lone District Representative Paz Radaza, who is seeking the city’s mayoralty post against Mayor Junard “Ahong” Chan. 

The five includes Lapu-Lapu City First Lady and chairperson of City Tourism, Cultural and Historical Affairs Commission Cindi King-Chan, Atty. Michael Dignos, Atty. Chieze Demegillo, Atty. Manuel Degolacion, and mediaman Junex Doronio. 

In Cebu City South District the contenders for the congressional post are former Cebu City Mayor Tomas Osmeña and City Councilor Edu Rama. The current representative is Rodrigo “Bebot”Abellanosa, who is not seeking any post for the 2022 polls. 

For the congressional race in Cebu City North District, they are City Councilor Niña Prisca Mabatid, movie actor Richard Yap and former North District Representative Rachel “Cutie” del Mar.

House Speaker Lord Allan Velasco is currently the caretaker of Cebu City North District after the death of Representative Raul del Mar, the father of Rachel, early this year.

(By: April Therese Tan)

Leave a Reply