By: Jim Lloyd Dongiapon

President Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. appointed eight new members and a new chairperson to the Marawi Compensation Board (MCB) yesterday, January 30.

The Presidential Communications Office also announced the names of the new appointees: Dalomabi Lao Bula, Mustapha C. Dimaampao, Moslemen T. Macarambon, Sr., Nasser Macapado Tabao, Mabandes Sumndad Diron, Jr., Jamaica Lamping Dimaporo, Sittie Aliyyah Lomondot Adiong, and Romaisa Lomantong Mamutuk.

In addition, Atty. Maisata Dandamun-Latiph has been named by PBBM as the new chairperson of the Board.

Dandamun-Latiph and the new MCB members took their oaths before Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin at Malacañan Palace on the same day.

Senator Robinhood Padilla also attended the oath-taking ceremony, demonstrating his unwavering support for his fellow Muslim brothers and sisters on the road to Marawi’s full recovery.

The new MCB officials vowed to carry out their responsibilities under Republic Act No. 11696, or the Marawi Siege Compensation Act of 2020, to provide what Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) have yearned for for more than five years.

The board is in charge of facilitating the tax-free payment of reparations to eligible claimants who lost homes and businesses during the Marawi siege, which is also part of the government’s effort to rebuild the Islamic City, which has been devastated by war.

Leave a Reply